Home > Approach > Newbie, advice on approaching existing leads

Newbie, advice on approaching existing leads

I've been interning as a sales assistant at a film rights distribution company for 3 weeks now and was finally given a list of leads that one of the managers met with a while ago and wants me to make follow up email/calls on.

This is my very first time taking on any sales operation and I was wondering how to start off. Should I view the exchange as a process of first creating a mutual and friendly relationship with the client and giving them a comfortable platform with which to deal and receive information? My rookie and instinctual view of sales takes the perspective of building both friendships and business partners in a professional light and wonder what the experts think about this perspective. My current thought is to introduce myself through email and open up a dialogue with them about what they are specifically interested in, hoping to work with these people through many dialogues to reach their solutions.

Thanks so much for any help, I am excited by this first time opportunity and will be waiting eagerly for your thoughts! - by Vollow
Vollow

I'd start by considering what you want to get out of the contact. If you want the prospect just to know that you exist, then your communication will be quite different from say - gaining an appointment.
I'd suggest that you start at the end and work back, so if you would like to gain an appointment with these prospects, work out a route to get there and similarly if it is just familiarisation work that back too.
As for the method of communication, if you're writing always plan to follow up by phone and always ask the prospect to take some action at the end of each communication.
What ever communication method you use ensure that it is prospect focused and not you focused - so its what's in for them and not WIIFY.