Home > Social Influence > What do I do when the prospect "takes over" the conversation?

What do I do when the prospect "takes over" the conversation?

OK, I admit it... I'm a total newbie!

So... I have come across some pretty persuasive prospects, and I find myself getting influenced by them instead of them getting influenced by me. That's not good :(

The difference between me and some of the prospects is that they are used to deal with people like me... I'm not used to deal with people like them, especially not when it comes to selling!!!

Until now,I have just done calls. But soon I'll also have to go door to door selling, and if I don't find a way to stop my current response to their "negative influence", it may be huge trouble.

I manage fine with those just saying "no thanks" and so, but there are also some who are challenging my arguments, and it becomes a "power thing". It's those people who are able to switch the "leadership" of a salesconversation who are my problem.

Any advice/tips is appreciated :)

Take care,
Louise - by cleocatra999
You could consider... "Twenty Steps to Power, Influence and Control Over People".... ;st

My ex-partner Greg used to tell me about business owners that would try to own the conversation and how to deal with it..

Greg would after the second or third challenge... sit or stand quietly till the guy finished.... and would wait.. then ask "is there anything else?" When the response to that was whatever it was... didn't matter, Greg would say "we were getting off track.. may I demonstrate why you gave us this few minutes of your time?"

This was much easier for Greg than for me... Greg was a 6' 3" Blond Prince Valiant.... but fun to watch....

Aloha... :cool: - by rattus58
Thanks Rattus :)