Home > Personal Selling > Need professional advice on our sales tactics

Need professional advice on our sales tactics

Hello everyone. This is my first post to this forum. Hopefully, there willbe some people that will be nice enough to assist me with a problem that I am having right now.

I work in the razor wire industry. The company I work for is one of the largest manufactuers of razor wire in the US. We are a very small company, but our production is that of a larger one. My main competitor is a division of the behemoth(Tyco), called Allied.

I was hired to bring some notariety to this company and to attempt to gain a larger portion of market share. All of the ingredients are here for that to happen.

We have the lowest prices, a similar or maybe even better product than the competition and we can manufacture the materials as fast as anyone.

In my recent attempts to introduce myself to many of our distributors and potential customers, I explain to everyone how we are better and why they should use us. One large point that I really sell is that we will beat any competitor price by at least 3%. For the most part people seem to like that and many have already taken advantage of this guarantee that we offer. However, one of our largest distributors recently had this to say to me about my 3% guarantee.

"Lastly, your guarantee to beat Allied by 3% is an approach that I don't favor. It is too easy to be the "me too" or "have all of the answers after the fact" guy. I would suggest diligence in your pricing to us and that you be competitive as possible if you truly want our business. I think sales pitches that are based on beating a given number are unprofessional. This is not a slam on you but rather a communication of my values."