Home > Education > The Art of Sales vs. The Science of Sales

The Art of Sales vs. The Science of Sales

Which part of sales is science and which part is art? - by Community Mailbox
Which part of sales is science and which part is art?
I don't like the wording of the question because I don't think it's a matter "parts". For a serious student of selling, it becomes a matter of interchangeable lenses.

I'm a serious student, so I'll give my thoughts. But first I want to say that selling is a BUSINESS--art and science nothwithstanding.

Selling IS a science, and we have our own choice as to how we relate to that science. We can choose to study the science, and the principles that have been uncovered before us. We need to do that with a discerning eye, more now than ever. OR--we can seek to ADVANCE the science, by uncovering more information, formulating new theories, and offering it up to others. THAT would mean assuming the role of scientist ourself. There is NO science without scientists.

Selling IS an art, and again we can choose how to PRACTICE that art. We can do it with a foundation of principles, or we can gamble that our own style will see it through. The latter is risky--as in BUSINESS risk. It DOES come back to that. - by Ace Coldiron
Very often you can hear how selling is a form of art, how sales people need to be creative and use their imagination, but I am not agreeing with that – sales is more science than anything. Yes you can use imagination and creativity, but after using tools available to you. - by AlenMajer
Very often you can hear how selling is a form of art, how sales people need to be creative and use their imagination, but I am not agreeing with that – sales is more science than anything. Yes you can use imagination and creativity, but after using tools available to you.
By tools, do you mean principles? If not, what?