Home > Marketing > Newbie - seeking help on sending enquiry

Newbie - seeking help on sending enquiry

Dear All,

A newbie here, and a newbie to Sales too.

I have been lurking around this forum for the past one week, basically reading various articles and posts by all the Sales experts here. A google search for 'sales forum' landed me here and I think I have come to the right place.

To begin with, I would kindly like to ask your opinion on my current sales situation.

I am basically an IT infrastructure techie, and I know the products am selling, very well (web/video hosting) and can help my leads in picking & designing the right solution for their business needs. Thats my strength. A problem solver first, and a sales guy next. Here is the problem. I've got a decent lead generation system but leads don't know about me. Its not generated via Opt-in list, and you can technically call me a 'spammer'. But thats not what I intend to do. I want to write an email (not a mass mailer, but a personal email written to each of them by me) asking if I can help them with a solution and if they are willing to discuss this ?.

But, so far, the response rate has been poor to pathetic.

Do you think such 'enquiry emails' can be sent a bit differently ? any do's and don'ts ?

Any input is highly appreciated.

Thanks a ton ;bg
Singaboy

- by Singaboy
I'm not the best at sales, but I do know that if someone recieves a sales pitch through email rather than the phone or some other method, they are way less likely to respond due to all of the scams out there. I would never suggest doing business through someone you don't know through email. If you have their number, give them a call! - by ttdub
I see.

I generally have access to their emails, not other contact details. I am more interested in making my letter appear more as a 'problem solving one' (and not any sales pitches - this has yielded poor result and I corrected already) and make them to open, read and reply to me.