Home > Cold Calling > New to cold calling

New to cold calling

hello, i am new to this forum and i am new to cold calling.
i work for one of the biggest cell phone companies in US, and business been really slow, on top of of that our location does not see much traffic, so our managers want us to make calls to people to add features and they want us to make customers come in and resign the contracts and get new phones.
Now when people come in i have no problems with people face to face, but making them come in is a big problem for me, i call them and i simply do not know how to start the conversation and people just often hang up. And most people look for free phones, and we have only one free phone, and i cant nor my manager cant do anything about prices, so i dont know what to do, i really dont want to get fired, because there are no jobs out there right now.

im not very experienced sales person, and i probably sound like one, but life took me that path, and i have to make the best of it, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

thank you in advance - by mp057812
Welcome... I wish I knew more about your business to offer you suggestion...

Much Aloha.. shds; ;bg - by rattus58
Now when people come in i have no problems with people face to face, but making them come in is a big problem for me, i call them and i simply do not know how to start the conversation and people just often hang up.
If you are calling them out of the blue then chances are good that your call is an intrusion and you will need to grab their attention quickly or they will end the call. You can usually get someone's attention by talking to them about something which they are interested in. - by Seth