Home > Jobs > Need Advice BADLY!!

Need Advice BADLY!!

Listen up! I've had ONE "sales" job in my life, working at LensCrafters on the floor. That AIN'T exactly the kind of high-powered sales most of you guys deal with, I'm sure.

Anyway, recently I took a plunge and applied for a sales job [as a recruiter for an excellent online university]. It pays about $40,000 (salary).

I have never done that kind of work before in my life. The job is that of an admissions advisor. They give you a list of folks who've already inquired about the school, and you go down the list contacting them to get them enrolled.

I passed two phone interviews [I have NO idea how!!!], and I'm going to have what I think is a final interview next week. I have absolutely NO idea of the sales process [NONE!], in terms of the psychology, etc. I saw some very nice stuff at this website concerning the art of listening, and that was very helpful.

But if anyone has any useful tips that I could use, I'd truly appreciate it. I've got to convince this guy's manager now, or that's what it looks like anyway.

I suppose that the first thing I should do is examine my own personality [something I really DO NOT want to do!] Anyway, "times is tough," as they say, and if I can find some tips here that will carry me through, then my wife MIGHT let me stay around for yet another 10 years!!

I am currently employed, but the dough's a little low. Oil and everything else is going up, as we all know. Gotta make a move! Help! - by RonChism