Home > Personal Selling > A newbie in Education Sales.. finding it hard and advice would be nice.

A newbie in Education Sales.. finding it hard and advice would be nice.

Hi guys

I'm new to sales, new to the graduate job market and new to this forum. I have recently finished university and I have always had a passion for sales and was very lucky to secure a job at an education publishing company!

I have been working here for about 4 weeks now and I must say I am starting to feel useless to some extent. I came into the organisation and I haven't recieved any formal training at all so I have started from scratch really. I had two days with the national sales manager who then left the company and I have now taken over her role. I haven't actually been given any targets yet which im still a bit dissapointed about as I want to make my salary higher .

I'm selling an online pupil resource to schools and although I have to admit that selling to teachers may be a financially good option right now but actually getting through to teachers particularly headteachers through reception is a nightmare. Honestly secretarys just cut me off point blank.

So far I would say that I am averaging at 5-8 sales a week which sounds really bad I know but they are quite high value sales. Last week I made £6000 for my company in a week. I'm reading book after book, looking at techniques, listening to CDs in my car and I really want to be the best I can but right now I feel a bit low and like Im letting my company down. When it comes to demonstrating the product im selling the teachers say how good I am at presenting and how I actually ask them questions an dundertsand them than try and sell.

Any advice on how to pick myself up and turn this around would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks - by mikeuk21