Home > Education > How Should Sales Training Change? What Would You Like to See?

How Should Sales Training Change? What Would You Like to See?

As a professional sales trainer, I'm always interested in feedback about my seminars and other projects with my client companies, or to my speaking engagements.

But I'm also interested in feedback about the sales training industry in its entirety.

If you've participated in sales training seminars, webinars, speeches, etc., what would you like to see change in the presentations of sales trainers and sales training companies from your perspective?

[Personally, I'm more interested in hearing about desired change from the SalesPractice community than I am of complaining - what suggestions do you have for sales training professionals around the globe?] - by Skip Anderson
...what suggestions do you have for sales training professionals around the globe?]
Coincidentally, on a layover yesterday at the Atlanta airport, I had a discussion on that very topic while on the phone with Jeff.

Conclusion: As in the words of Stephen Covey, "Seek first to understand, then to be understood."

With the Internet, sales training has almost entered some sort of commodity stage--a lot of shingles hung out.

In my view, people who want to make a living in sales training should spend time searching for, and evaluating, their own core philosophy rather than just the generic platitudes. If it's a solid one, it doesn't have to agree with everyone else's. I believe that's what the most effective trainers and authors have done. Jacques Werth, Sharon Drew Morgen, Chris Lytle, Laura Laaman, Neil Rackham--even the popular Zig Ziglar, would be examples.

Hope that helps. - by Gary A Boye
Gary, please give us some examples of what you refer to as "the generic platitudes." - by Skip Anderson
I'll give you seven because I'm on my way to an appointment:
  • Always be closing. (ABC of Selling)
  • Build rapport.
  • Learn to OVERCOME objections.