Home > Approach > Trouble getting sales

Trouble getting sales

Hi Everyone. I am a recent grad and work for a company that manufactures friction material (brakes for industrial, commercial vehicles, rail). I am having a bit of trouble with potential customers in the aftermarket industrial (rebuilders, distributors).

I have been initially contacting potential customers that I have qualified and know they use products like we manufacturer. I can get the decision maker on the phone and initially I ask them about their business and what products they use so I can send them some information about our company and some samples.

My problem, after following up regarding the samples, info, pricing...I am having trouble getting any sales. I know our pricing is competitive (allow them higher margins when they resell it) and our products are of high quality but I am unable to get many sales from these guys, they like to nit pick us for our "specialty" products that they cant get anywhere else but wont buy other products that are competitive in price and quality and are available immmediately. I keep getting a line similar to "business is slow" "we dont need anything right now," "satisfied with our current supplier" and I have gotten these lines for over 6 months. Granted I have had some success, I have had new customers order on the spot and have had success at the OEM level, but I'd say 70% of the aftermarket industrial people I talk to are initially happy and like the pricing, etc then they get cold feet all of the sudden and I know they are using material from someone because I have visited some and they are busy. I am not sure if this is because of my approach? I am not sure what I am doing wrong.

Any thoughts on how I can get these guys to order products and build a long term business relationship with them? - by rrsales21
......I ask them about their business and what products they use so I can send them some information about our company and some samples.