Home > Jobs > Starting out in sales.

Starting out in sales.

I'm keen to kick things of and develop my sales skills though not sure of which direction to be heading in.

Whilst I've had some basic experience through a month long stretch as a product demonstrator in a department store, my sales experience is somewhat limited.

What do you see as the best route for someone who wants to start out in sales? - by Oliver.s
Hello Oliver. A course and/or reading on the fundamentals of selling will likely give you a general idea of what your options are regarding type of sales jobs available and an understanding of what a career in sales would look like. - by Jeff Blackwell
Hi Jeff, thatnks for the helpful reply.

Over the past few weeks I've been listening to a few audio books on sales (Zig Ziglar and Brian Tracy being the 2 more notable authors) and its pushed me in the direction of B2B sales. Is this going to be an area thats hard to enter directly, as opposed to starting out in business to consumer and moving over after some experience?

I'm also keen to enter a position that supplies good mentorship and training, am I asking to much to enter directly into B2B in a quality position?

Thoughts appreciated. - by Oliver.s
A quick question to tac on here:

I've decided to start out a small project offering a unique form of advertising to local companies - with the student market specifically in mind (I live in the student area near a University).

The oppertunity offers several advantages over other advertising techniques such as flyers, directories and magazine advertising - leaving me confident that the product is very sellable.

My primary concern is in getting through to the right person, and managing to speak about the benifits I can offer without getting blown off before hand. Is there a key piece of advice you can offer to ensure I get through to this stage?

Any general advice on selling advertising to small businesses would also be appreciated.