Home > Jobs > Sales experience, sort of,

Sales experience, sort of,

Hi everyone,
I am trying to get some feedback from some pro's, I am an electrician and have owned my own business for the last 5 years that mostly consist of residential and commercial service, most of my new customers are getting several bids so I consider myself a decent salesman for an electrician. I have my own sales philosophy that seems to work. Due to arthritis the physical part of my job is coming to an end soon and I was thinking and have thought in the past of getting into solar sales. Will the sales experience and the work experience be much help finding a job in solar sales or will I just be a guy with no real sales experience or training? I am planning on taking a crash course offered by Rich Hessler. Any thoughts and advice is much appreciated.
Thanks
BK - by bkessler
I'm not sure how lucrative solar sales is. Why not sale your electricity type work and let someone else do the work? - by cs80918
Electrical service is a very competitive market, in the last couple years the advantage has shifted from seller to buyer. It seems to me that solar is just getting going, I am in CA which is a very progressive state that offers plenty of rebates. Customers are getting great solar systems installed with no money down and payments with thier new bill less than the original bill. Also I feel like I need to get out, so that I don't keep getting pulled back in. - by bkessler
I'm just guessing but I don't believe it will be hard to find a job selling solar equipment. Especially if you find a company that pays straight commission.

As far as learning to sell I would imagine the solar company that you get contracted to sell for would have some training. If not just read some books.

Also, you could always try and find a job in any field that trains people how to sell. Automotive, celluar or whatever.

If you do well in solar sales let me know how it works. - by cs80918
Hi everyone,