Home > Marketing > Novice can sell??

Novice can sell??

Hi I'm new to sales and marketing.
Through friends and their friends Ive received tons of advice and ideas on how to effectively sell a product, which after putting into practice has only left me more terrified than when I first began.(cold calling, mass email marketing with little or no interest, flyer hand-outs at traffic lights, (Its done a lot here in South Africa)

It hasnt all been bad though. Basically, I provide water dispensers and bottled water to offices, gyms, dance studios, homes etc, and currently have about 25 clients signed up and happy. Problem is the current 25 required a great deal of effort, embarrassment and time to close.

I feel I might be playing smart but not being clever!

I'd love to know what I can do to improve o my marketing strategy.

Big Thanks in advance bgwnk;

RyanC - by RyanC
What do you like and dislike most about your current marketing strategy? - by Jeff Blackwell
I like that the product promotes healthy living and doesnt cost an arm and half a leg. People understand this...right away.
What I dislike is the knocking on doors, cold phone calls and flyer hand outs..I feel its impersonal..People today dont just trust you because you're standing at their door with white teeth and eloquent words.
Since posting the thread, I have seen an increase in business through referals and one week sample offers.

Although cold calling is still done, Im experimenting with these new ideas too. thmbp2; - by RyanC
I like that the product promotes healthy living and doesnt cost an arm and half a leg. People understand this...right away.
What I dislike is the knocking on doors, cold phone calls and flyer hand outs..I feel its impersonal..People today dont just trust you because you're standing at their door with white teeth and eloquent words.
Since posting the thread, I have seen an increase in business through referals and one week sample offers.