Home > Resistance > Dealing with Analysis Paralysis.

Dealing with Analysis Paralysis.

Hi all,

I am new to the sales game and I need some suggestions on how to deal with this situation. A few weeks ago I did a presentation for an existing customer of an upgrade to a product they currently have with us. The presentation went great and when I showed some numbers to the main decision maker he didn't really even flinch. Following the presentation I gave this customer a couple of weeks to "kick the tires" and they loved it. I honestly thought this deal was going to close at the end of last month or beginning of this month.

Fast forward to about a week after the presentation, I received an email from an individual at this company letting me know he has been assigned the task of reviewing "all" of the firm's business with my company and to make a recommendation on whether to move forward with this purchase. I have met with him twice and provided him with multiple spreadsheets and showed him that they are currently getting a great deal and that this improvement will even help their business more.

What I have figured out through the course my interactions with this individual is that the company is grooming him to take the reins down the road as the main decision maker and as a first task he has been asked him to review all of their current costs. So as a result of this he is over analyzing what his company spends with us. The fact of the matter is that they really aren't spending that much with us compared to comparable customers. And what they would need to spend to upgrade to this new and improved version of our product is really almost nothing compared to the benefits. He would actually look like more of a heroe if he rolled this new version out to his company. Any suggestions on how to push this guy along without ticking him off would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks! - by kenpo1980