Home > Cold Calling > Face to face cold call visits - B2B

Face to face cold call visits - B2B

Hello. I am fairly new to sales. I represent products that manufacturers use to improve processes (sales, design/engineering, testing, manufacturing).

I want to cultivate leads and I feel a good way is by visiting prospects.

My cold call visit plan is:
  • Introduce myself and company I represent.
  • Mention the purpose of visit and mission of the company I represent.
  • Give information packet to the receptionist and ask them to deliver it to a manager, director, or business owner.
  • Inform the receptionist I would like to make an appointment with the person he/she provides the information to and that I would call within a week to schedule an appointment.
The part I anticipate struggling with is setting up appointments. Here are some of the challenges I anticipate:
  • No receptionist at all. Just a lobby, phone, and a locked door. What should I do?
  • What can I do to avoid having the receptionist just drop my information into the garbage after I leave?
  • How can I ensure my message gets to the manager clearly?
Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.

Today is my first day travelling to gather prospects, so I will probably have many more questions at the end of the day. - by deandm
Out of curiosity, what results did you experience on your first day traveling and did they match what you were anticipating? - by Jeff Blackwell
Jeff, Thank you for asking. It went well. I was surprised at how many receptionists were willing to pass the information along to the appropriate person and to give me that persons contact info. I now have a good next step for those leads. I was also surprised at how many other new leads I found as I was just driving from business to business on my route. This was much better for me than picking up a phone, especially since I could pre-qualify and see if a follow up is worthwhile.