Home > Cold Calling > Commercial Insurance Cold Calling Script

Commercial Insurance Cold Calling Script

Hey everyone, I'm looking for some help creating a cold calling script.

A bit of background about me first. I work in the insurance industry, not life/benefits but doing auto/home/commercial, I've recently joined our sales department specializing in Commercial Transportation (ie Trucking companies/fleets) because of the large premiums they command. A big problem that I've come across is that most of the books that I read recommend doing some background checking on the company first, which is hard to do because the majority of the trucking companies here are just local companies which have no websites and aren't really listed in any phone books. I've just been collecting phone numbers from trucks that I see driving around.

Because I'm still learning about all the underwriting for the insurance companies regarding commercial transportation, one of the top salesman at my company has offered to help me out with the meetings I set up (with me still getting the commision, but I would definately kick back something to him for helping) until I know enough about their insurance requirements to handle the meetings on my own. All I need to do is make the cold calls and set up the meetings.

So, I've been searching high and low through many books and especially through this website to find a simple sample script that I can borrow and try to adjust to my industry and career. Something that won't make me sound too salesman like. Thus far I've had no luck.

So I was hoping that there is someone out there that is in the same or similar feild that can help me out with this.
Here's what Ive found on this site so far that I think is really good and could possibly work. It was made by Smurge, sorry I dont know how to embed so I will just copy and paste what he wrote.

What to say to the Gatekeeper Script: