Home > Marketing > Warm Marketing

Warm Marketing

I'm freshly licensed to offer financial and investment products, such as insurance, loans, and mutual funds. I have very little experience with selling, save for a short stint at door to door canvassing during college for an environmental PAC. The folks at the office I'm working out of encourage warm marketing techniques for their sales force. Basically, they encourage everyone to sell to their friends and family first, and grow a referral base from there.

Our products are extremely helpful and often free up money in a monthly budget (i.e. better insurance price, better loan payment). However, I'm not having much luck working with my warm market.

It all boils down to a very tumultuous relationship that lasted 6 years that I left a couple of years ago, and I ended up losing contact with all my friends. You know how when you're miserable you don't stay in touch with people right? Well, I'm not miserable now, but I didn't maintain many excellent relationships and friendships that were strong say 8-10 years ago.

I know that a big part of the problem is my confidence is a bit low, and I've struggled with making new friends in a new city now that I've been out of this bad relationship for 3 years. Basically, I only know people locally at an acquaintance level, if that, and I feel that I don't have the right trainer/support system at the office to help me deal with a market of acquaintances.

Sorry if that was all TMI, but does anyone have any tips for approaching acquaintances and people on the street? Just blurting out things like "I can help you save 200 to 500 a month on your family budget!" seems schemy and desperate. - by La_pro
Who is your ideal client? - by Jeff Blackwell