Home > Cold Calling > B2C Cold calling parents to sell educational software

B2C Cold calling parents to sell educational software

Hello, first before anything I'd really like to thank the members here who've helped me tremendously. I've mostly just been lurking and trying to absorb all the information on this forum. I'd like to especially thank helisell and Ace Coldiron for their contributions.

I used to do B2B outbound telemarketing sales for an SEO (search engine optimization) company. In 2008 I started my own business and in 2009 quit my sales job and focused 100% on my venture. I was an online retail merchant and got to the point of grossing nearly $15000 per month selling children's formal wear. In November of 2010 my merchant processor Paypal froze my account and assets for reasons that they couldn't even explain to me specifically. Now being only 21, having very little job experience and no degree. I'm back in sales and looking for all the help I can get. I was a student of Brian Tracy mostly, read a lot of his books back in 2008, unfortunately I've forgotten many sales principles and I'd like to get back into the game.

I'm very interested on what you feel about my script and if there are any improvements I'm all ears. I've taken A LOT of what I've learned in this forum and put it into this script. This is for educational software, we are calling parents with children from grades 1-8:

Hello, I need to speak with a Mr./Mrs. ______, please. Hi, this is ______ we're an educational learning center and, I've been asked to call you to find out if you'd be interested in providing a tool for your student to improve their grades and their score on the upcoming state exams. (this is where I lose most prospects)
(if they ask about company...I'm calling from the _____ Children's Learning Center we consult parents who are interested in making sure their children are getting the best possible education for their success.)