Home > Cold Calling > Cold Calling to Eliminate Prospects?

Cold Calling to Eliminate Prospects?

I am relatively new to sales and I am starting to think that the purpose of my calls should be to elminate prospects and not set appointments.

What I mean by this is that it seems that in my company's sales culture there is a push to get into see a customer no matter what. This will often result in an appointment but many of these appointments end up being a total waste of time.

I am wondering if I were to just take the approach of asking questions that would allow a prospect to eliminate themselves might be better than just blindly pushing for an appointment.

Anyone who takes this approach? - by kenpo1980
I am relatively new to sales and I am starting to think that the purpose of my calls should be to elminate prospects and not set appointments.

What I mean by this is that it seems that in my company's sales culture there is a push to get into see a customer no matter what. This will often result in an appointment but many of these appointments end up being a total waste of time.

I am wondering if I were to just take the approach of asking questions that would allow a prospect to eliminate themselves might be better than just blindly pushing for an appointment.

Anyone who takes this approach?
Good question. There are at least two things to consider based on what you have said.

First, it's risky from a job security standpoint to go against the flow of a company's "culture", particularly if you are new.

Second, the philosophy of prospecting by disqualifying "prospects" is viable, and contained in some advanced sales systems. But--again you're new--and such systems require considerable orientation and training.

However, that said, you may be on the right track. Not enough information here to evaluate. - by Gary A Boye