Home > Resistance > I'm not ready....

I'm not ready....

I'm a crappy car salesman who is desperately trying to get better. I used to sell Mazdas. It was quite easy to close those customers. I've recently begun selling Toyotas. I keep running into this vague objection from people "I'm not ready." I'll ask them what has to happen for them to be ready, or how will they know they are ready, etc. They will then provide some scenario that is nearly impossible. One gentleman said he'll be ready only when he gets to test drive a Prius (these cars are spoken for by the time they arrive at the dealership, therefore you cannot test drive one). Can anyone help me? - by wesbound
I'm a crappy car salesman who is desperately trying to get better. I used to sell Mazdas. It was quite easy to close those customers. I've recently begun selling Toyotas. I keep running into this vague objection from people "I'm not ready." I'll ask them what has to happen for them to be ready, or how will they know they are ready, etc. They will then provide some scenario that is nearly impossible. One gentleman said he'll be ready only when he gets to test drive a Prius (these cars are spoken for by the time they arrive at the dealership, therefore you cannot test drive one). Can anyone help me?
Wow, I just want to give you a hug.

Instead of giving you a big winded response, I'm going to throw some bullet points at you.
  • Change your identity, you're not "crappy"
  • Try using self reflection to identify where you are going wrong
  • Spend time with the successful salesmen in your lot
  • Ask more questions to your customer
  • Clarify how they mean "not ready". Sounds like a smoke screen to me.
- by MrCharisma
Hi wesbound,
I am having a little difficulty in responding to you without some more details.

The "i'm not ready" thing is plainly a lack of urgency and I'm also wondering how well you have created value during your discussions with customers but that's just a gut feeling on my part.