Home > Follow-up > Follow up Help For Selling websites

Follow up Help For Selling websites

Hello everyone,

I'm an experienced graphic designer looking to ramp up my sales with the use of telemarketing. My plan is to cold call businesses globally and ask them if they have a website and if they don't I want to ask for their fax number so I can fax them a price list and a sample list and then follow up with them later.

I want to be able to close sales over the phone and I was thinking of attaching a fax form with the CC information of the customer that they could fax back to me after the project is complete. Has anyone had success using this idea because I doubt people will give me their CC info over the phone unless I'm a big corporation.

I'm comfortable on the phone but I'm far from a sales expert. From what I have been reading it takes an average of 7 contacts before a sale is made so I want my first contact to offer some valuable information only if they are interested in it.

However my problem occurs in the follow up how do I go about directing the sale to a close and making sure the customer understands the value of what I'm offering and that he is a good fit for the product. I think what I'm looking for is a proven sales system that can generate me consistent sales based on x amount of phone calls I can make per day.

Any help is appreciated. - by Profit Wave Media
You might study the concept behind SPIN SELLING by Neil Rackham.

If you can grasp the four types of questions, Situation, Problem, Implication, and Needs/Payoff, it will advance your overall understanding of selling.

From my own writings, I'll offer this because, having read your post, I think your understanding of "closing" needs refinement:

Closing is a progression of consent.

If you commit to refraining from all other interpretations of closing, you will have a better grasp than the majority.

Good luck to you. - by Gary A Boye