Home > Advertising > The Death of the Sales Magazine

The Death of the Sales Magazine

In an article I wrote titled, "The Death of the Sales Magazine" (link removed) I mentioned new realities relating to Content, Sources, Availability, and Pricing which seem to signal the end of printed sales magazines. What is your take on the matter? - by Jeff Blackwell
A few years ago, I was a featured writer for a prominent and heavily subscribed publication on sales. They paid well and paid me on time--that was the good news.

The editors who gave me assignments more than once took out the meat of my articles, which were usually real world examples. It saddened me but did not surprise me. Magazines favored vanilla material, usually in the form that I eventually coined the term "parrot platitudes" for.

Most blogs and web articles today rehash the same stuff.

The future of sales education on the web--that which can be both meaningful and nonfictional--lies right here at SalesPractice. - by Gary A Boye
Gary,

Excellent point.

Content and Source

1 The web lacks a major component in their content and that is accountability. Often, no one individual is identified as a source and when they are, their sources are incomplete, restricting adequate investigation. Regardless, contacting them and questioning their position is impossible.

Also, with so many contributors, valid information becomes diluted with amateur participation. There has been many books written on this single topic alone.

Salespractice promotes participant transparency where content and sources can be questioned, strengthening accountability.

2 The lack of accountability offers a venue rip for global manipulation and intellectual indoctrination.

Salespractice offers a platform for debate, where no one opinion can dominate the topic. When an attempt to indoctrinate has occurred, our seasoned sales members pounced with valid counter information.