Home > Education > Bespoke or Open Course?

Bespoke or Open Course?

Hi,

I am not a salesman by trade but now have a product/service that I need to sell!

I am the director of a plumbing and heating company that about a year ago started to provide a boiler/heating breakdown cover scheme to our domestic customers. This has taken off so well that we then approached a local letting agency that we already had good relations with and asked them if they would like to sell our product/service to their customers for a commission this too has worked very well. We have now realised that this is the future for our company.

Now here is the task! I have no sales experience apart from with domestic customers and now need to give presentations to local businesses. I have read a few books and have come to realise that sales can get very in depth eg. body language etc. So am I best to go on a general training course or one that would be tailored for me and the type of customers I will be presenting too????

I also would be greatful if you could any training companies, not forgetting I am in the UK.

I look forward to your replies. - by Bertthedragon
I have read a few books and have come to realise that sales can get very in depth eg. body language etc.
Which books have you read and what topics were covered? - by Gary A Boye
If you have A Toastmasters group in your area this will be a fantastic place to start. The group can teach you how to speak in front of a group of people or only 1. The program is designed to help format and deliver proper materials in a timed setting. This group can help you to paint a picture of ownership. It will help guide you to set up your presentation with a beginning, middle and end and how to deliver the presentation.

This will help you - by rich34232
Wow, great response already! Many thanks.

In answer to your question Gary, i have read the following books:

'Selling to Win', Richard Denny

'Persuasion', James Borg

'Body Language', James Borg