Home > Prospecting > Qualifying Phone Calls into A++ Leads

Qualifying Phone Calls into A++ Leads

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post on your site after being recommended to me by one your members.

I'm new to a sales management role in the Retail Home Improvements section. I have one of my team members that is very new to the industry and is keen to do anything to prove he can do the job.

My problem is he isn't qualifying his phone inquiries enough and is running a lot of leads with no results, do you have any advice in which I can in part some wisdom into his sales process so he can be reaping the success he is striving for. - by Chris_Smith
Fielding phone inquiries with success is largely dependent on conversation skills--more so than "process", although the latter should be well thought out.

Preparedness is the most important skill in selling. With that in mind, the pertinent question that drives the preparedness in these situations is simply, "What do I need to know to assess the qualifications of this prospective buyer?"

As a manager, you can provide the answers better than anyone here, because all businesses are somewhat, to a greater or lesser scale, unique. - by Gary A Boye
Chris-find out what exactly is taking place or not taking place during these so called phone inquiries. What is he asking or not asking? You cant sell over the phone nor do you want to not uncover enough to see if it is a quality lead.

Do you own the home? with whom? How old is the house? When are you looking to have the work done? most of these questions will allow you to gain information beyond those questions. I wouldn't really go beyond that over the phone however make sure you tell the prospect that "the appointment will take approx 45 minutes depending upon how many questions you and Mr Jones have, is that sound ok?"

Just engaging in pleasant conversation more times than not will uncover a lot of the prospects intentions - by libbycop