Home > Closing > Closing The Sale & Strategy

Closing The Sale & Strategy

In sales, I'm an amateur in one sense, seeking information and perspective as a painter might seek an understanding of the elements he must master - through application - to manipulate base materials into works of Art.

With that in mind, what is strategy in sales and what does it have to do with closing the sale? - by MitchM
With that in mind, what is strategy in sales and what does it have to do with closing the sale?
The few key factors that determine success in selling are, from a strategic viewpoint, the same few factors that determine success in other things. The word "strategy" is derived from a Greek term that means "thinking like a general". Of course, in selling, the applications are distinct just as they would be distinct in chess, sports, or war. Strategy, in itself, is nonintuitive. It relies on analysis and foresight. The age old principles of strategy could be described as a system for winning without conflict. I think that last point reveals adaptability to sales convincingly.

From a subjective standpoint, knowing and studying strategy, I'm comfortable saying that I'm focused on advancing my position in a sales situation. To do that, I have to be able to assess my position, that of the prospect, and that of the competition.

For me, it begins with that. - by Gary Boye
The few key factors that determine success in selling are, from a strategic viewpoint, the same few factors that determine success in other things. The word "strategy" is derived from a Greek term that means "thinking like a general". Of course, in selling, the applications are distinct just as they would be distinct in chess, sports, or war. Strategy, in itself, is nonintuitive. It relies on analysis and foresight. The age old principles of strategy could be described as a system for winning without conflict. I think that last point reveals adaptability to sales convincingly.