Home > Cold Calling > Cold Calling Ideas and Tips

Cold Calling Ideas and Tips

I kinda got into this a little bit in introducing myself to this forum and got some good feedback. Rainmaker linked to a thread that was helpful as well. I wanted to start this thread though to get more feedback. I'll try and keep this as short as I can.

I am a freight broker and I work from my home. For those who don't know, a freight broker finds carriers to haul their customers' freight. I am an agent for a carrier/broker company who does my billing and such and in doing so take 40% off of my profit for each load I cover. The company I work for is based in Alabama and I am in Iowa, their only agent in Iowa. I have a small customer base from previous contacts, as I have been in the warehouse/trucking business for about 15 years. I have only been brokering freight for 2 years and just over a year on my own. I started on my own with no formal sales training. I figured I knew enough about the business it should be a snap. I went to Barnes and Noble and purchased 3 books on sales, since the last sales pitch I had given was a proposal for marriage, I wanted to read up on sales and wanted find out what I was about to get into. By the way, I wish I had bought some books on the whole marriage thing to, but that is off the topic. I bought the Sales Bible, How To Become a Rainmaker, and Solution Selling. I should also say the company I am an agent for has been really no help as far as developing leads or any kind of training whatsoever, let alone support, but that is extremely normal for what I have found in this business. Other than that they are a good company to be aligned with, they have a good rep in the industry.