Home > Management > Finding Ad Sales Reps

Finding Ad Sales Reps

This is my first time posting, I recently found this site and it has been very insightfull so far.

I run a small publishing company that sells advertising on a niche publication that caters to aviation enthusiasts. My dilema has been finding and keeping ad salespeople. The advertisers are those who provide services to owners of small planes in Florida. As you can see we are quite limited on the number of leads we can call. But we do have some great leads, machine shops, parts dealers, new plane manufactures, ect. The ads run for 400.00 and the sales reps are getting 18% straight commission ($72.00/per sale). Reps are selling 4 to 5 ads per week ($360.00 per week), as you can see the reps are not making any money.

The sales reps get discouraged at the start, they usually quit before they learn the script well and get confortable. I have been in business close to 2 years thanks in part to one salesperson who has stuck with me and brings in 80% of the sales. She is getting burned out. She has told me to find someone because she is leaving soon.

I have tried hiring "work at home" sales people, but those mainly want to sleep in and don't take my business too seriously. I see the enthusiasm change when they see it takes alot of effort to get one sale.

I feel I have a great publication, the advertisers and end users like it because it serves their needs. I don't want to give up. I need to find great salespeople now.

Question: How do I get my salespeople to make more money? And how to I get them to stay, at least learn before they quit?

Any ideas/responses are greatly appreciated.

AdSales - by AdSales
Question: How do I get my salespeople to make more money? And how to I get them to stay, at least learn before they quit?

Any ideas/responses are greatly appreciated.

AdSales