Home > Cold Calling > I am not trying to sell anything

I am not trying to sell anything

I just came from a business website where they were talking about salespeople opening a cold call with, "I am not trying to sell anything." Does anyone here use this as an opener with any success? - by Iceman
I've received calls like this but no i would never open a call saying that. ;pi - by haggler236
I'm no expert, but it seem to me that as soon as you say that,the person on the other end is now certain that you are trying to sell them something. I've had these calls before, and they are an affront to my intelligence. If a complete stranger calls me out of the blue and protests that he/she "is not trying to sell me anything" when it is obvious that they are, I terminate the call immdiately. They've already lied once.They'll do it again. - by jrdickens
I'm no expert, but it seem to me that as soon as you say that,the person on the other end is now certain that you are trying to sell them something.
Exactly!

I've had these calls before, and they are an affront to my intelligence. If a complete stranger calls me out of the blue and protests that he/she "is not trying to sell me anything" when it is obvious that they are, I terminate the call immdiately. They've already lied once.They'll do it again.
Exactly! - by Jolly Roger
I can't remember a time where the person who said this wasn't lying. :( - by Agent Smith
I can't remember a time where the person who said this wasn't lying. :(
Ooh, so cynical. :) - by Iceman
Is anyone really using or teaching that as an opener? - by Milton
Is anyone really using or teaching that as an opener?
I have not read or heard about this being taught anywhere. If it's meant to be disarming I think it fails miserably. :( - by Houston