Home > Cold Calling > Guerilla Selling

Guerilla Selling

I want to open the floor with a current issue I'm faced with. I am firmly believe that cold calling is a necessary part of selling. However, I know (based on what I've read and from my peers) that it may be the single LEAST effective means of creating valid business opportunities. Here's the 411 on my situation:

I've been selling for about 10 years, and I have been fortunate enough to work for organization that did a great job creating qualified leads, so I have rarely had to make more that 20-30 calls per day to maintain my funnel. I've always tried to focus on a solid value statement, and I've been told my phone technique is pretty good. Then I qualify my leads to ensure I focus on high probability opportunities. This leads to a fairly good closing ratio. The most creative thing I've had to do to generate business is utilize a poorly crafted "Selling to VITO" letter to a number of potential clients, which oddly enough, worked out not to badly (sent out 40 letters, closed 3 deals).