Home > Personal Development > Perservering in the Sales Profession

Perservering in the Sales Profession

Hi Guys

I've been in the sales line for awhile now and there are times when i just wana throw in the towel and give up.

There would be this head in my voice telling me that i'm not cut out to be a sales person.

How many of you ever felt this way?

What made you perservere and stay on to reap the rewards? - by coldshot
For my first college degree, in 1955, I majored in Industrial Sales. They taught "Needs Selling" which is almost the same as the Consultative Selling, Solution Selling, etc., which (unfortunately) are being taught today. I aced every sales course.

Then, I got a job selling forklift trucks and I found out I could not sell. I could not make any of the techniques, that I learned in school, work. After four months of working 60 hours a week, I was no closer to making a sale than I was on my first day. I was totally discouraged and ready to quit and join my father's union and drive a truck.

Luckily, I had a chance to go out on sales calls with the top salesperson (out of 120) in our company. I watched him work and took careful notes. That top salesperson was not doing anything that I learned in school. He had intuitively, experientially developed his own sales methods. I just copied what he did and suddenly I became a better than average sales guy.

Next, I sought out other top salespeople in different industries and watched them work, took notes and copied what they did. Every time I did that, my sales volume and my income increased.

Eventually, I went out with 312 of the top 1% of salespeople in 23 industries. My book, "High Probability Selling," describes the sales process that I learned from all that research. It is probably very different from the way you are trying to sell. - by JacquesWerth
"I've been in the sales line for awhile now and there are times when i just wana throw in the towel and give up.