Home > Jobs > How do you know what you are worth?

How do you know what you are worth?

I am a new member and wanted to ask a few questions. The first item is salary. How do I know what to ask for if I am new to this profession. I have alot of knowledge and experience but not in the sales field. I make a nice living right now and don't want to fall to far off. I understand that I will be taking a pay cut and that is fine but I don't want to sell myself short. Is there anyone who knows what base salary would be acceptable? I have over 13 years experience in manufacturing. I have a machine repair trade card. I have an associates in business and currently finishing my bachelors in marketing. I also have the education and training that comes with 5 years of machine repair work. I am not asking for the sky but like I said I do not want to work for less than I have to. Also does anyone have any recomendations for gaining more sales experience? Thank you in advance...Jamie. - by wikdc5
Wouldn't a salary be based on the company and the position? At the company I work for they offer a base salary with a draw against commissions. The base salary is minimum wage. - by Thomas
Sometimes it's not what your skills or talents are worth but what the employer is willing to pay to have certain work performed. Just a thought. - by Liberty
Base salary in sales is usually not where the bulk of your income will come from. Whe I had a top tier sales job, my base was 60k. I don't know of many sales jobs where you can get a base in excess of 100k. - by susana
let me ask this a different way...is 50-60k as a base a realistic starting point in industrial sales? is anyone in industrial sales? just wanna try and get a ballpark figure on what I could make first year in this profession...thanks everyone. - by wikdc5
I have not worked in industrial sales (yet). ;bg