Home > Management > Not a personality fit (grounds for termination?)

Not a personality fit (grounds for termination?)

I"m having a real bad weekend. I was just let go yesterday by my company because they felt I was not a personality fit with the type of customers in the industry. They stated that this is not performance related and that I have had success out in the field, but they wanted someone in the territory who they felt could relate better to the buyers. Basically i'm in the construction business and I deal with alot of blue collared workers and I am a recent college graduate with professionalism and they felt I did not possess the southern country quaulities that many buyers in the construction industry had. This was the reason for termination, with that being said, this was based off of nothing. Of the 8 months I been with the company, the managers only rode with me in field 3 times. That is pathetic management, and they had no clue as to how I actually interacted with my customers, they based this off of how they viewed me in the office. They have confirmed with me this is not a sales performance related issue and they had no concerns with my work ethic or selling ability but simply that they felt i may not be a fit to deal with ruggid construction workers. This based off of 3 rides in an 8 month period. The other bad part is I never even saw this coming, my conversations with my manager have always been that he though i was doing a great job and I need to keep up the good work, then 10 days later after a regional meeting with all the district managers, I am let go. Who smells something fishy? - by halidon