Home > Jobs > Want to be a sales person for life?

Want to be a sales person for life?

I am curious as to how people see sales. I was in sales for various companies for 10 years or so but am now phasing out of it as I have completed my education and am entering another profession.

Do most people here aspire to be a salesperson for a full career or just came into it for a while and eventually see themselves either in a management role or another career? - by theglyphon
Sales is a career choice for me. I wouldn't have it any other way. ;sm - by AZBroker
Sales is definately a career choice for me. I have been in other functions in the past and none were as satisfying as sales. - by jrdickens
Avon sales is definitely a second career choice for me. I spent most of my life as a mom and homemaker. Sometimes I worked part time as a secretary. This is a lot of fun! - by ozzie
I find sales to be both fun and rewarding, so i'm in it as a career. - by RyanJ
When some kids are asked what they want to be when they grow up they say an Astronaut or a Doctor or an Athlete. I said "Salesman". ;co - by SalesGuy
Definitely a career. What I find interesting are the number of people who "try" sales until "something better comes along."

As regards your comment about moving into management. What most managers in sales organizations lose sight of is they are still salespeople. They are selling to a different audience, that being their sales force.

I have found nothing better to provide the income and lifestyle afforded by being a professional salesperson. - by Masteri5
Question: do I really need to become familiar with the company and its people to sell the product?
I think you should believe in your company and the product to be the most effective you can be. Letting the owner know that you'd like to get a feel for the company and what goes on shouldn't cause to much of a challenge and if it does what would that tell you? - by Houston