Home > Prospecting > Sales Prospecting Basics

Sales Prospecting Basics

Hi Everyone:

I'm new at sales, representing insurance products I really believe in. Here's my problem. My target - employers who will payroll deduct premium for their employees and provide access - have been hit repeatedly by new agents for years ....

How do I differentiate myself and get appointments with the prospects?

Any advice is welcome!
Thanks - by Chris
My target - employers who will payroll deduct premium for their employees and provide access - have been hit repeatedly by new agents for years.?
IMO, this is more of a problem in the salesperson's mind than the prospects.

Sell yourself first. - by SpeedRacer
Good put, I am still learning to keep my mind in the game. I'll take that input to heart. - by Chris
Hi Chris, I agree that others coming before you shouldn't be a problem.

IMO, if you can get your prospects "interest" up front you should get a fair hearing. ;) - by WobblyBox
Wobbly - there's the rub - because many have come before, they think they already know what I have to say and offer.
I think my challenge is in selling myself well enough to get their initial interest.
Thanks - by Chris
Wobbly - there's the rub - because many have come before, they think they already know what I have to say and offer.
That's what we call "Prejudice" and it happens all the time.

I think my challenge is in selling myself well enough to get their initial interest.
Exactly! This is why "pretty girls" do so well selling to the average male. ;) [no offense to any members] - by WobblyBox
Chris,