Home > Approach > The 80/20 Rule

The 80/20 Rule

If the rule says I should get 80% of my business from 20% of my customers, shouldn't I work harder on the 20%?

Communicate at least 4 times a year?
Special offers/vip sales?
Unexpected free gifts?

And if the other rule says I'm going to lose 20% of my customers every year (hopefully through no fault of my own), won't some of them my from my treasured 20% list?

Maybe I should work to move some of the 80% to the 20% so I can afford the loss?

whaddyathink? - by BIG Mike
Mike,

Yes, you should work harder on those people. You should train them to be ambassadors for you. Treat them like royalty if they truly are giving and referring lots of business to you.

And you should always be looking for new ambassadors.

Hope that helps. - by Jim Klein
I had never heard this rule but then I am very new to sales.

I wonder if it has anything to do with something my district manager told me when I signed on to sell Avon. She said most representatives only have six or eight customers! I found that hard to believe. Maybe she was referring to that 20%? - by ozzie
If the rule says I should get 80% of my business from 20% of my customers, shouldn't I work harder on the 20%?
Tell me you're not treating ALL of your customers the same. :yi

Maybe I should work to move some of the 80% to the 20% so I can afford the loss?
That is the general rule of thumb... moving C's to B's and B's to A's.

whaddyathink? - by Mikey
Keep on doing the same ol' thing and business will evaporate. You have to be fresh and alive and attentive.

Find at least 4 reasons to contact your customers every year. Thank-you card, newspaper clipping, birthday card. It's all about them, not about you. Treat the 20% like royalty and schmooze the 80% to milk more business and prospect new business so you can grow by 25% a year for a 5% net growth. - by BIG Mike
Mike,