Home > Cold Calling > Breaking the Ice

Breaking the Ice

Hi all,

I've recently gotten a job as a marketer/web developer for a small company here in Australia, and even though I've worked in Direct Marketing before, there are still a few issues I'm having with over-the-phone sales.

My job is to find people interested in getting a website done, book them a meeting and then try to sell them a site. At this point in time, the important thing is getting the meetings, I can work on selling later. It's a numbers game at the moment.

However, the main issue I'm having is breaking the ice with people. I used to be a Kirby Salesman, and my front talk with customers was pretty impeccable, however I had a larger amount of time with those customers. Over the phone I have anywhere between five and ten seconds to break the ice and get talking. It seems as if I'm not getting them to open up properly, then launching into website talk and having them just shut me down completely. With some of my "preferred" customers, getting them to open up is a lot easier, so all I really have to do is start talking and they'll follow.

Doesn't work with the toughies thmbdn2;

I was wondering, what are some good ways of making the customer feel more comfortable, and in as short a period of time as possible?

Thanks,

Andaluz - by Andaluz
Out of all the possible suspects how do you choose who to call on? - by Jolly Roger
You're blanket cold calling? :yi That's tough.

What would you need to know before you would consider calling on a more targeted list of prospects? - by Jolly Roger
Ultimately, whether or not they can afford it. All I really have to do over the phone is organize a 20 minute meeting, which isn't in reality all that hard to do.

The only thing I'm having trouble getting around is the telemarketer stereotyping. As I said, I'm not a telemarketer but business owners don't seem to be too willing to do that :P.