Home > Approach > Dress for Success: Myth or Good Advice

Dress for Success: Myth or Good Advice

I thought it would be interesting to see what others thought about dressing for success. Does it really matter? - by AZBroker
IMO, dressing appropriately is important. Overdressing and underdressing can work against you. ;) - by Liberty
IMO, dressing appropriately is important. Overdressing and underdressing can work against you. ;)
As a realtor, I've seen agents walking around in cut-off shorts and flip-flops with their clients. I was never quite sure which was which! Around these parts, smart casual has become the norm but certain occassions call for more formal attire...settlements primarily. Obviously, if I'm going out to look at a 72 acre horse farm, I'm not going to wear my heals. However, I wouldn't be caught dead in those cut-offs, either!!:D - by Irene Morales Ward
Irene, I have seen the same thing. I think you stand more chances of putting someone off by dressing down then by dressing up. - by Jomsom
I live in Florida where even the mailman looks like he is on vacation. Dressing up is like torture in this heat, if you have an outside sales job (in and out of a/c all day long.), but even though I might cheat a little, I still think it sends the wrong signal to be too undersdressed. - by RainMaker
Does it really matter?
Yes. I believe it matters. - by Gary Boye
Overdressing and underdressing can work against you. ;)
Can you give an example of when "overdressing" would work against you? - by AZBroker
Can you give an example of when "overdressing" would work against you?
I'm not certain if this is real or imagined, but when I am out in the field, calling on small businesses, I dress up, but not like I used to dress in when I worked in a corporate setting. I don't want to look like a "power woman--climbing my way up." I like to look professional, but warm and friendly. ;) - by RainMaker