Home > Personal Selling > What made you personally get into sales?

What made you personally get into sales?

Hello All,
ONe quick question;
What made you personally get into sales? :dun - by John Hughes
a quick question but not a quick answer. I worked in the high tech industry for well over a decade. I believed if I worked harder I would get rewarded and I was, with promotions and pay increases, at first. Then because of mergers and outsorcing I was put into a position where no matter how hard I worked or how good of a job I did, I realized this was not going to be the case any longer. The company refused to pay its employees the bonuses it had promissed (because the industry,not the compay was doing bad) which was about 1/3 of my pay and put in a company wide pay freeze. I guess I should have been lucky I did not loose my job, like 30% of my coworkers. But then because our company had a record earning quarter the CEO got a 5 million dollar bonus. I know now that all companies are not like this but I was never going to be put in a position where I was not paid for work I performed. I know if I work hard at sales I will see the results in my paycheck as I am paid on commision, no longer a salary. I am not going to let me and my family get penalized again because I am working for an institution whose primary goal is to increase profits by decreasing employees pay. - by Jorel
The Challenge; the freedom and the and the profits thmbp2; - by bluenote
For me it is the rewards and recognition for doing well at what you are paid to do and exceeding expectations - both to your clients and yourself. - by Snowboy
I agree with Keith here - Definately Rewards and Recognition for me. The financial benefits are great but not the be all and end all. - by EmmaC
Yes - I will second that - by Gunner
Hello All,
ONe quick question;
What made you personally get into sales? :dun
John,
For me it was the thrill of chasing an outcome that you ahve the control of getting yourself.