Home > Advertising > Sex Sells

Sex Sells

We live in a world where promiscuity is rampant.

Advertising and media have several different options in which to brand or call to action their business. The best and most effective way of seling or advertsing your business is through using sexual related images or footage.

I am a writer in a fashion and broadcasting magazine. I would like to get some input for the reality of my comment. Please answer the poll and leave me a Message if you wish.

Thanks
Victoria. - by SexSells
Of course it does,
No one can say that they look away when there is a bikina babe on the TV screen promoting a new telecommunications network. No matter how mundane the product might seem it is the Sex in the Advertsing that works. - by Gunner
The best and most effective way of seling or advertsing your business is through using sexual related images or footage.
What are your thoughts on why this is so effective Victoria? - by AZBroker
It is definitely an attention grabber. I believe to simply say sex sells is a little too general. If Disney took the motto that sex sells would they be successful?? - by benjamin-benjamin
We're surrounded by advertisements that desperately compete for our attention. Everywhere we look, we find ourselves inevitably drawn to images of scantily clad attractive men and women that are supposed to somehow inspire us to purchase products they endorse. Sure, this attention-getting strategy is popular. But, is it effective?

Sex appeal can increase the effectiveness of an ad or commercial because it attracts the customer’s attention. It’s human nature to be curious about sex. A pair of long legs on a billboard is more likely to catch (and hold) a guy’s attention than a puppy, regardless of how cute it may be. Even women are drawn to them, perhaps with the desire of having goddess-like legs.