Home > Personal Selling > Project Management Issues

Project Management Issues

Hello all,
I am an account Manager for a very large commercial electrical, network and industrial contractor.
I am running into some problems with managing all I have going on. My job consist of building new relationships while trying to maintain ongoing customers along with the projects that they may have going.
I don't find enough time in the day to do all this efficiently or my methods are not efficient. I have been in sales for over ten years but only in my current position for two years. I have a multi million dollar quota to meet on top of everything else. I am questioning weather I stay too involved after a project starts, but I believe that my customers deserve that with the size of investments and importance of the projects we completing for them.
Seems like the other salesmen I work with play a lot of golf and have no problem meeting their even higher quotas.
Can anyone give me suggestions. I spend my whole day running from appointment to appointment and returning 40 to fifty calls and emails in between and things still fall through the cracks.
please help if you can. - by HOG Fan
Greetings Hogfan:

I suspect the reason your co-workers are playing a lot of golf is because they have created 'systems' to help them track all their on-going projects.

When I was a young man I worked as new home project manager. The person who had the job before me was fired for being unable to take care of the various stages of construction of 25 homes. Managing the construction of 25 homes all at one time, all the various stages each is in, the scheduling and supervision of sub-contractors, bringing the job to a close on time, is a monumental task, believe me.