Home > Personal Selling > is sales just time management?

is sales just time management?

good morning,

I have been selling advertising for the last three years, so i'm no where near as experienced as some of you, before sales, i was a self employed programmer .. this may have influenced the way i think/write the following ..

in my mind, getting better at sales, is simply a better return ($$$) on my time

and when i step back and look at myself, and other members of the sales team. I see nothing more than a matter of the return on your time spent

1) at your desk
2) between your desk and the fax machine or another desk
3) on the phone
4) waiting for your call to be transferred
5) listening to the phone ring before it is answered
6) being put on hold
7) making a coffee
8) waiting for the fax to come through
9) driving

SO little time is spent SELLING.
I don't know about you, but this is just a terrible use of our own resources.

In fact the 'to do' items above could be broken down into minutes and even seconds, none of which actually help you sell more.

There are only 8 hours in the day. You only sell when you are .. what? presenting .. ? closing .. ?

If our target is FIVE sales a week, that's ONE per day.

5 sales a week SHOULD NOT be related to how many hours you work a week.

If you could condense 1 week of work into one day, you could accomplish 5 sales a day.

If you could do this you would have 25 sales a week.

There is nothing stopping you and me from getting one weeks' worth of sales in one day - because I do sell 5 every week.

The only thing stopping ME is ..

1) *ring ring* *ring ring* *ring ring* *ring ring*
2) james is in a meeting at the moment can i take a message
3) please hold
4) can you send me a fax with your proposal
5) james has left for the day can you call tomorrow.
6) typing (i type 80-100wpm)
7) using my pen
8) using my calculator
9) looking at the rate card

*pause*

I sell completely over the phone (so i DONT waste time driving).