Home > Personal Selling > Did you develop your sales skills on your own or through other means?

Did you develop your sales skills on your own or through other means?

Your comments are welcomed? - by Wonderboy
I think like most people I learned both ways. Mostly, through reading sales books and training seminars.

Also, I think you learn alot from watching other people.

Speaking of I would like to get in contact with other people who sell advertising. I feel I still have alot to learn in this area. I am somewhat new to this. I used to sell cars and I was a hotel sales manager for 4 years. This isn't coming to me as easy as other types of sales have. - by staceylee
I think I have put together little parts of all who I admired. - by Ed Callais
I read the materials that Avon provided me in the start up kit for new representatives and I also took most of the online training classes and Webinar classes available to me. They are really helpful. I need to take the rest of them! - by ozzie
If you sell complex high-ticket stuff, check out Jeff Thull.

If you want to sell to big companies check Jill Konrath

Either way, check Sharon Drew Morgen

If you plan to do phone work, check Ari Galper

What they have in common is that they look at sales from a totally new perspective. This is not the old fashioned peddler-type high-pressure selling. It's neat stuff. - by Bald Dog
What they have in common is that they look at sales from a totally new perspective. This is not the old fashioned peddler-type high-pressure selling. It's neat stuff.
Have you found any top rated or best selling books on selling authored in the last twenty years that featuring the old fashioned peddler-type high-pressure selling? I haven't but that style of selling is used in a lot of comparisons and I can't see why. - by Houston
Have you found any top rated or best selling books on selling authored in the last twenty years that featuring the old fashioned peddler-type high-pressure selling?