Home > Personal Selling > What would you do if you were me?

What would you do if you were me?

Let me first start off by saying I apologize for the length of this post, but I feel it necessary to get my point across, and get the most out of the vast experience on this forum.

I have a degree in Industrial Technology, and my first job was as an MWD engineer. (basically a navigator for oilfield horizontal drilling) After a year of never being home, I went to work in retail sales with my stepfather in the flooring business. After two years there, I hired on as an outside salesman with a Flooring Distributor, which I loved, however two years into it, hurricane Katrina dealt a massive blow to the company, and after "hanging in there" for a year, had to look for work elsewhere.

I am currently an outside salesman for an oilfield service company. I have been there just over a year, but I feel that my performance is much less than desirable. I wonder how different this field is from a "traditional" sales field. Let me explain the way things work.

My company has only 15 employees. The owner was the only one doing sales, but found he needed to focus more on running the business, thus I was hired. I am the only salesman, and generating new customers relies on just me.

The company manufactures and sales oilfield production monitoring equipment. Basically it is an alarm system like in your house, which constantly monitors pressure and fluid depth on the oil/gas/water coming up out of the ground. If anything gets out of specified parameters, our system shuts down the well, and can call someone in charge to let them know there is a problem. The old way of doing this was all with pneumatics, we however have invented and pioneered electronic monitoring, which is what our systems are based on.