Home > Personal Selling > Something I have NEVER seen! But why not??

Something I have NEVER seen! But why not??

I am pretty new to the "sales" field. I am a personal trainer in a local gym. Last year when I started I didnt realize I was also going to need to be a salesman. I figured, ya know, you post some flyers in the gym in strategic spots and the business would come to you. Boy was I wrong.

So now I am trying to learn about selling. (we have to get our own clients in the gym....due to the specific situation i basically will receive no help from the front desk. )

So I have read some good books, listened to some nice motivational and sales tapes, watched some speakers in conference settings. All very good and useful btu there is one thing I have yet to see: ACTUAL SELLING!!

Why not? Doesnt anyone video or record actual sales calls? I mean, people film sex, they film open heart surgeries, they film themselves cooking...but no ACTUAL videos of the sales process in action??

How is a fella going to learn if he has no model? (no, there is no model for me in the local gym, lol) - by Fitness Trainer
Why not? Doesnt anyone video or record actual sales calls? I mean, people film sex, they film open heart surgeries, they film themselves cooking...but no ACTUAL videos of the sales process in action??
Hmmm... formal sales training programs could have what you're looking for. - by Mikey
I personally love audio sales training programs. Authors like Ziglar are always giving examples of sales situations. Rarely will they deal with exactly the industry you are in, but you will be able to apply the concepts to what you are doing.

People want to look good and be healthy.
You know how to get them there faster and safer than they can do on their own.

I'd think coming into the new year, (resolutions and all) that you might be able to offer some gift certificates to get people to come on in and try it out.