Home > Closing > A better deal for my prospect and no deal for me

A better deal for my prospect and no deal for me

Hello, everyone,

I have lurked here for a while and have thoroughly enjoyed this forum. There are some very smart people here, and I am hoping that some of you can help me.
I am an insurance agent who specializes in a line of coverage used mostly by professionals. In the past, there have been some occassions where I have spent much time analyzing a prospect's current contract, shopping their coverage and eventually showing them a better deal in cost and coverage only for them to go back to their current agent who says they can get to my carrier too, just give them a broker letter and they will get the deal for them. This results in me having done the work to get them a better deal and their current agent has done nothing to earn the business, but gets to keep it. If you can believe it, this even happens when I have taken the time upfront to get agreement from the prospect that if I can show them a better way to go, I will get the business and they agreed to it! When this happens, I have tried to talk my prospect through the process that they are reaping the major benefit of what I have to offer them.......my brain, my hard work, and my service, and have they had that level of service demonstrated to them by their other providers? (obviously not). I work hard not to go negative. It works a very small percentage of time to get them to re-think their position.