Home > Personal Selling > Best advice for a rookie?

Best advice for a rookie?

Hi everybody currently i am a freshman in college studying marketing. I hope to one day start my own business or become a top notch sales person. What would be the best advice for somebody like me. I really appreciate all of your thoughts and ideas.

Thanks again

MoneyMaker - by MoneyMaker
MoneyMaker, congratulations on your forward-thinking question. As a freshman in college, you are to be commended for your participation here in this forum. Here are some recommendations for you:

1. Secure a sales position at a company that offers excellent sales training and sales mentoring. This might be part-time while you're in college, or your first job after graduating. Although many companies tout their sales training during interviews, most don't understand do a very good job at sales training or mentoring. Sales training and mentoring is an ongoing process, it's not a week of classes that you get at the beginning of your employment. Get a sales coach at some point if you can't find a job that offers top-level mentoring.

2. Choose your early jobs carefully, as they will help define your future career path to some degree (some people get pigeon-holed into a career and find it difficult to make a change after they learn more about what industry or type of sales they like the best).

3. Start a small business now. Perhaps you already have. I recall from your posts here at SP that you seem quite entrepreneurial. Figure out something that you're passionate about and start, manage, and grow a business around it. What you will learn doing this will be extraordinarily valuable, and could possibly even evolve into a long-term business venture.