Home > Technology > Internet Marketing Begins With A Web Site That Doesn't Stink

Internet Marketing Begins With A Web Site That Doesn't Stink

One of the beautiful things about the web is the fact that it allows you to reinvent yourself.

How many times have you visited an attractive, well designed web site with valuable content and a large, corporate presence, only to discover it's run by a sole proprietor? Conversely (and somewhat inexplicably), there are countless mid-sized businesses out there whose web sites look like they were designed and written by the boss's teenage nephew as an after school project.

That sole proprietor knows something the mid-sized business owner doesn't: in Cyberspace you're only as large (and as important) as you appear to be.

I've been developing web sites for businesses of all sizes since 1996, and my experience has taught me that if you're not willing to invest in a clean, professional, up-to-date site, with clear, concise sell copy, you'd be better off with no web site at all. A poorly designed, visually dated home page is the digital equivalent of allowing your three year-old to cut your hair before an important business meeting: both leave a lousy impression.

Visit your web site now and ask yourself the following questions:
  • Is it visually interesting?
  • Does it appear fresh and new, or tired and dated?
  • Is it easy to find the information you need in two or three clicks?
  • Is the text written in a friendly, conversational voice?
  • Are the benefits of using your products or services clearly stated?
  • Is there a compelling "call to action?"
  • Has the content been updated lately?
  • Does the look and feel of your site accurately reflect the quality of your business?
  • Have you ever hesitated to send a prospective client to your site?
  • Does it look like it was built by your boss's nephew?