Home > Jobs > Business is way down - jump ship or hang tough?

Business is way down - jump ship or hang tough?

In my job I help people buy or sell their manufactured homes which are in parks where you own the home but you rent the lot. Sales have been in the toilet for the last few months and I'm starting to wonder if I should jump ship and find a different sales job or hang tough and stay where I'm at.

My question for the experts is, "How do you know when it's time to abandon ship?" - by Thomas
Thomas, if anyone can understand how you feel, I can. I'm an automotive trainer and for the last 5 months, my business has been terribly down. And usually, when my training is down, product sales are up, and even products have been down, dismally.

I recently sent out 10,000 faxes to dealerships around the country to help develop their internet departments, which is one of my specialities. Under the current market conditions, I even cut my daily rate to help them out. I did not get one response, which has never happened to me before.

After 20 years in the business, I have just decided to give up the training part of my business, and sign on with a mega dealer as their Director of Internet Operations. I had to make this decision, as you called it "jump ship" because I just got tired of the ups and downs of our industry. Fortunately, I'll still keep my products business because they sell really well on the internet.

I'm a big fan of sticking it out. One of the comments I made in another post is, "if you want to be successful, never give up." But I can see when a market is really down, an individual still has to make money and support his family. Decisions like this are made all the time.