Home > Technology > What is the point of Twitter?

What is the point of Twitter?

I can't figure out what people see in Twitter. What value does Twitter hold for a salesperson? - by Frankie
I can't help with this. I've seen Twitter in the news but I don't know how it would apply to selling. - by realtor
I resisted using twitter for a long time, but as so much of my network kept talking about it, I guess my herd instinct took over.
I'm far from a Twitter expert.

But I've found it to be pretty useful to send folks to my various blogs, Squidoo pages, and to update many of the Social networking profiles I'm part of, via RSS.

As far as a sales tool goes, I've yet to find a ton of sales directly linked to twitter itself, but the fact that it puts eyeballs on my work (getting me comments on blog posts, getting Dugg on Digg, etc.) and links me closer to my network, and grants me easy exposure within my target market, it's worth the 30 minutes or so I spend on it weekly. - by Jesse B.
How does that work exactly Jesse? How do you use it to send people to your blogs? - by Houston
Good question. There's one big caveat though, I'm assuming that you have built a responsive network before you ever start trying to push people toward your blog.

Twitter is basically "microblogging," it's an element you use to supplement a larger blog(s), website, social network, a system you use to drive presold traffic deeper into your lead generation system.

I think that's the #1 question people have about social networking, social marketing, web 2.0, whatever you want to call it: "how do you get traffic, and make sales?" You build and nurture the network first, once you've established yourself as credible people want to interact with you. When you've built the network to a point where you're interacting with tons of people daily, something really cool happens, your content becomes viral, because your network has so much energy within it you start bring in people from the outside.