Home > Personal Selling > Seeking REAL sales advice

Seeking REAL sales advice

Hello,

I've recently just entered into sales and am enjoying it and want to improve and make it into a career. At the moment Im telemarketing for a major telecommunications company and am seeking advice on techniques for improving sales performance.

Though I am new at this one of the things im struggling with is the crappy sales training we are offered. I admit to not knowing much, but we are taught to say things like "hows your day going?" and "how's the weather?" to build rapport. Surely people arent that gullible???:dun Anyway, while some of the stuff makes sense (i.e. assume the sale), most of it goes against my instinct and much of what Id rather do in a sale is just get to the point and offer tangible benefits and real savings.. I can do that part reasonably well enough but often lose because there is little emotion/urgency in my pitch. Can anyone suggest how I can add emotion to the sale without seeming phoney, or build rapport without asking stupid questions?

Also can anyone suggest a really good book to read based on effective sales/telesales practise? All Im interested at the end of the day is what REALLY WORKS, and would like to hear what the best have to say about it.

Cheers
Ace - by sales_ace
Do you HAVE to use the scripts the company trains on? - by Frankie
Do you HAVE to use the scripts the company trains on?
There is no requirement to use the scripts we are taught, they are to be used as a guide to help newbies. They aren't much help to me. - by sales_ace
Sales Ace,

I agree with you on using 'how are you' and other meaningless questions to build rapport.

In the UK this worked in the 1980s but now people want you to get to the point of your call.

I worked for a major communications provider for many years as a sales trainer and manager.